Our Club's History & Growth:

Foundation and Growth as West Hawthorn CC

Back in 1947, the Club was formed as West Hawthorn C.C. after a meeting of Hawthorn Colts Footballers led by Hawthorn F.C. rover  Alan "Snowy" Jensen. One matting side was entered into the  ESCA competition in 1947/48 and the Club has been a member continuously since that first season. Home games were played at the tiny Fairview Park ground by the Yarra River.


West Hawthorn C.C. foundation players in
1947/48 at St. James Park, West Hawthorn.
West Hawthorn's 1981/82 1st XI
Premiership team that took the club into
Senior Turf for the first time.


In 1949/50 the Club entered a turf team based at  Burke Road South Reserve, which became West Hawthorn's home for many years. The Club featured in the Finals regularly for the first ten years before winning it's first Flag in 1957/58.

A Junior side was formed in 1963/64 which heralded the careers of many fine players with Under 16s Flags in 1967/68 and 68/69. In 1972/73 the Club merged with Hawthorn District CC at Rathmines Reserve, to become  West Hawthorn District CC, expanding senior ranks to two turf and two matting sides. Two years later the Club's name reverted back to its original name West Hawthorn CC.

 West Hawthorn's  2nd XI were Premiers in 1979/80 and the 1st XI won the A-Grade Flag in  1981/82 to elevate the Club to Senior Turf for the first time. Success returned in 1999/00 with the 2nd XI Premiers and a 5th XI added to the ranks. In  2000/01 the 4th XI won their first flag in C-Grade Synthetic.

2002/03 New era as Hawthorn Cricket Club.

In a bold step forward by President of the time, Jon Kozeniauskas, the club seized on the opportunity  to change it's name from West Hawthorn to Hawthorn CC. It was an appropriate move as the club had grown to 5 senior sides with Junior teams and occupied three grounds widely spread across the Hawthorn district. To celebrate the name change Hawthorn won two Premierships with the 1st XI and 4th XI, moving them into Senior Turf and A-Gold Synthetic.

In  2003/04 the  5th XI reached their  first finals after moving into the two day competition in D-Synthetic while the long suffering  3rd XI lost their 3rd Grand Final in as many years in D-Grade Turf! It was a frustrating year on turf for the Club with our 1st and 2nd XIs both being relegated back to A-Grade and C-Grade respectively.

In 2004/05, under new coach Mehul Somaia, the  2nd XI rebounded magnificently under Brad Alcock, winning the C-Turf Flag at Surrey Park, where the 3rd XI had been bitterly dissappointed the past two seasons. Mehul's outstanding run of cricket premierships continued the following season with the 1st XI winning it's way back into Senior Turf  in the 2005/06 season.

2007/08 saw Mick Torriero as Captain/Coach of the club attempting to lead Hawthorn CC to its first Senior Turf Flag. It was a frustrating year with the top four teams missing finals action by two to three wins. The Synthetic 2nd XI was the highlight reaching their first ever Grand Final since forming in 1999/00. Unfortunately, they failed to bring home the Flag. Other highlights included Rob Tongue coming 2nd in the Dunstan Medal and Path Kothari winning the ECA B-Turf Batting Trophy with an average of over 80.

2008/09 witnesses the very sad passing of Club Legend, Mark Fitzpatrick from a battle with cancer before the start of the season. Mick Torriero steps aside for Rob Tongue as the new Captain/Coach. Mehul Somaia is Vice Captain and Jon Koz returns to the fold as Assistant Coach to guide the First XI to higher ground at the top level in Dunstan Shield.

The Club puts in a fantastic season under Rob with 4 of 5 senior sides making Finals. The Turf and Synthetic 1st XIs both win through to their Grand Finals from 4th place. The Turf 3rd XI and Synthetic 2nds both bow out in the Semis after finishing 2nd and 1st on the ladder! Unfortunately neither side win a Flag. The First Turf XI come very close against East Doncaster to winning their first ever Dunstan Premiership but dropping catches prooves to be the difference between the two sides. Andrew Waugh-Young scores 3 Centuries in the 2nd Synthetic XI and Club President Graeme Yole passes 2 major milestones: Club Record 395 Games, overtaking his father John Yole and then 400 Games in the losing Semi-Final.

On the Juniors front, there are now 7 sides. A Pre-season Cricket Academy is established and Stephen Yole's Under 12 Bs finishes the Season as Premiers adding our 5th Junior Flag for the Club. Several Juniors are selected for Representative Cricket with Harry Kerr's Inner Eastern Emus team winning the State Championships.